Patron-Only Q&A No. 1: July 2019



Click HERE to listen to this episode on Patreon.


Micah and Tommy answer questions about art school, how to break old drawing habits, how to study anatomy so you'll really learn it, and how to imbue figures, faces, and entire works of art with a forceful sense of emotion. We also open up about where we were after art school - but before "going pro" - and what that transition was like.

Patron Timestamps:

Sebastian: 0:02:30
Brandon: 0:20:52
Yi: 0:43:50
Charlie: 1:03:31

Artists Mentioned:

Wylie Beckert | wyliebeckert.com
Brian Stelfreeze | twitter.com/Stelfreeze
Laura Martin | lauramartinart.com
Greg Manchess | manchess.com
John Avon | johnavonart.com
Mike "Daarken" Lim | daarken.com
Tran Nguyen | mynameistran.com
Justin Gerard | gallerygerard.com/justin-gerard
Annie Stegg Gerard | gallerygerard.com/annie-stegg
Marc Scheff | marcscheff.com
Irene Gallo | igallo.blogspot.com
Greg Ruth | gregthings.com
Rovina Cai | rovinacai.com

Other Resources:

Peak: Secrets From the New Science of Expertise, Anders Ericsson & Robert Pool | On Amazon
The Power of Habit, Charles Duhigg | On Amazon
Anatomy of Movement, Blandine Calais-Germain | On Amazon
Picture This: How Pictures Work, Molly Bang | On Amazon
Story: Style, Structure, Substance, and the Principles of Screenwriting, Robert McKee | https://amzn.to/2yoCbtu
The Goal Folder, Tommy Arnold | http://www.muddycolors.com/2019/01/the-goal-folder/
Gregory Manchess's Visions in Oil | https://www.criterion.com/current/posts/6490-gregory-manchess-s-visions-in-oil
Wacom Intuos 4 | On Amazon
Enliighten | enliighten.com

Subscribe // RSS
Support the show: Join Team BWG on Patreon!



 / Music by Dylan Roth